Even if I wrote you a sonnet…

This one I wrote some time ago at a friend, who I had written a poem for to appologise for giving them a three day headache (again) whilst playing against them in football.  However, said friend didn’t recognise the poem for what it was, and claimed it was just a letter.  I may post it at some point, but this was my slightly frustrated retort to his denial of my rhyming.  And yes I know I haven’t written it in sonnet form, I just picked that particular word for (tortured) rhymability.

Even if I wrote you a sonnet
Even if I wrote you a sonnet,
Would you noticed that I’d done it?
Since you didn’t see my rhyme,
Upon which I spent so much time.
 
My dear sarcastic, lankey man,
Spot a poem, I don’t think you can!
Even the works of Burns and Shakespear,
As poetry to you would not be clear.
09/05/2007

 And now I’m off to seek inspiration from the colourful characters at RockBand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rhymes

Let me know what you think

