My Favourite Words

Twenty miles seemed like a good idea.  Rather, coming to the end of ten miles, doing a second hike with another friend seemed like a good idea, and that ended up being another ten miles.  However, having literally just returned from this hike, I’m now nursing some very sore legs and suspect I shall pay greatly for this tomorrow, and for the rest of the week.  I didn’t have anything prepared, and my black book has gone walk about.  Let’s see what happens…

My Favourite Words
Who says dictionaries are a bore,
When they’ve words like petrichor.
The smell of earth after rain.
 
Then there’re mendicants,
Beggars (with raggedy pants?)
In need of some change.
 
Flibbertigibbets you can’t count on,
They’re a flighty, unreliable person.
Flitting around as they please.
 
But the best of all is sleep,
Slumber so peaceful and deep.
Goodnight!
17/07/2011

 

10 Comments

Filed under Ramblings, Rhymes

10 responses to “My Favourite Words

  1. another good one and the next time you recommend a second hike i am reconsider.

    but good poem as always

  2. yes should be more direct but were would the fun be in that, and you got this out of it not a bad day in the end i would say.

  3. “petrichor” I love that I so need to use that lol Awesome poem!

  4. love words too, words are expression that impact us and show passion in us.
    beautiful entry.

    Thanks for the unbeatable contribution.

  5. This was an enjoyable read. Nice surprise in the way you’ve connected your stanzas!

Let me know what you think

