On a Hat Stand

Trying out my idea of posting twice a week, Sunday evening as currently, but also on a Wednesday evening.  We’ll see how it goes for a few weeks before I decide whether to make it the new schedule or not.  Let me know what you think either by commenting, tweeting ( @disjointedrhyme ), e-mailing (disjointedrhymings@gmail.com) or via the Facebook page which is just to the left.

I had to go to London a couple of weeks ago, and as I stood at the platform waiting for the train to stop, I spotted a hat stand a couple of carriages up from the one I got on.  It amused me, so I’ve been trying to get a rhyme about it ever since.  Enjoy!

 

On a Hat Stand
A hat stand on an Underground train,
Seems to me just a little bit odd.
But who am I to comment or complain,
Although I still wonder why it was.
 
Such elegant white-painted wood,
Topped with a smart new bowler hat.
Serene amongst the crowds it stood,
Long black coat draped over an arm.
 
Maybe it was an art installation,
A silent social commentary.
Reminding us who we are in this nation,
Land of cricket and crumpets and tea.
 
Perhaps it was merely some shopping,
The only practical way to get home.
As for the stand bearing clothing,
Well it sure does get hot on the Tube.
 
 
Having thought on it all I can say,
Is at the end of the day does it matter?
Whatever randomness you see on your way,
Just enjoy it and have a wee smile.
10/09/2011
4 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

4 responses to “On a Hat Stand

  1. Love this. I saw a red double decker bus the other day… which wouldn’t be out of place in London, but I live in Wellignton, NZ and it was surreal to see!!
    You’ve inspired me to put pen to paper.

    I’ve given you an award, if you care to take a peek and pass on 5 favourite blogs of your own. Thanks 🙂

  2. We see lot of things different,like us…sometimes we will ignore them…like who we are to comment…

    nicely written…thanks for sharing…

    • Thank you, I’m sure the owner of the hatstand (assuming there was an owner) got a few bemused glances from visitors. Naturally the native Londoner would not allow any one to catch them looking at someone/something 😉

Let me know what you think

