Tomorrow/Apparently

Double poem post today, a pair of very time appropriate pieces.  That is all, enjoy! 🙂

 

Tomorrow
Tomorrow I turn twenty-one,
Tomorrow I hand in my essay.
Tomorrow I’m meeting Steveo for lunch,
By tomorrow tomorrow’s today.
13/11/2007

 

 

Apparently
Apparently today,
I’m officially old.
But I don’t feel that ancient,
Despite what I’ve been told.
 
Apparently today,
I’m officially mature.
Now I don’t know about that,
But I’ll try and act demure.
 
Apparently today,
I’m officially adult.
Now that I’ll agree with,
But now things are my fault.
14/11/2007
8 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

8 responses to “Tomorrow/Apparently

  1. I remember twenty-one and the sentiments you write about ring clear as if you rolled back the years and dropped me into that morning. Friends came over and brought a bottle of bubbly along with some cake – my breakfast in bed began the day with the realization that I was in charge of me. And yet nothing changed. I still made stupid mistakes and had to face peers, friends, lovers, family and… myself, the harshest judge of all. It turned out that 21 was just a number, like Santa Claus being just an idea. Maybe that’s what 21 is all about – waking up and walking with your eyes open. Good luck to you and happy birthday!

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Nice! And happy birthday 🙂 Ah, 21…

  3. Disjointed, your title TOMORROW/APPARENTLY says it all! How often we wait for tomorrow to become apparent to ourselves! I will soon be 65; and the part I still have trouble with is “acting demure”! Good luck!

  4. Greetings,

    hope all is well,

    invite you to join poetry picnic today, simply share a relevant or a random piece, and enjoy!
    Happy Thanksgiving,
    Always, your presence is sunshine to us.
    Best Wishes!

    your talent rocks.
    xoxox

Let me know what you think

