2011 Community Meme

This was a brilliant idea from Tom over at ME, a dodgily named but very interesting blog you can find here.  Unfortunately I had a bit of a finger-slip when scheduling this, so it has gone up a little late…SORRY!  Essentially a number of blogs answer the same questions at exactly the same time.

 

2011 Meme Questions

1. As a blogger, what do you draw inspirations from for your posts?

Life, the universe, every…no wait, that’s the Hitch-hikers’ Guide.  I draw inspiration from the random things I see, the people I speak to and events that happen.  Sometimes I just get an idea and run with it.
 

2. If you could swap blogs with another blogger for a post, who would you switch with and why?

Either Kain because I know he would bring some great writing to the site, or if they promised not to go too mad, Jowett et al, as they are to blame the funniest blog I read with loads of fans, and who doesn’t want to boost their traffic?
 

3. If your blog had a theme song, what would it be? Why?

I’d have to have a theme song composed for me by Truly Medley Deeply, most likely consisting of as many different musical genres as I could get in one medley.  There’d be j-pop, battle metal, country, folk and rock most likely.  A complete mishmash of ideas blended together.  Just like the blog.
 

4. What is your writing process for a post?

It varies depending on what has been happening during the day before my evening update.  Sometimes I’ll have written a poem in advance or stumbled across an old one of mine and know that’s the one to use for that post.  Other times I’ll sit at my laptop and see what happens.  As for the rambling at the start of each poem, that just happens as it happens.
 

5. Your blog requires a cute, new, mascot – what would it be?

My hamster Tribble.  He’s an albino imperfect long-haired Syrian hamster with attitude, looks a bit like a scruffy miniture polar bear according to some of my friends.
 

6. Do you feel you express your “true self” on your blog?

I guess as it’s a poetry blog I have to, my rhymes come from my heart for the most part.  Although having said that, some of the really personal ones I’ve written over the years I’m holding back, but I do things like that offline too.
 

7. What is your biggest online pet-peeve?

It has to be attacking an author or artist for their work because you don’t like where they’re going with it or they didn’t take their style/plot the way you wanted it to go or thought it should go.  If you don’t like it, either lump it or stop reading it, no one is making you.  Just because your online persona is talking to another online persona, doesn’t mean there isn’t a real person being hurt by your comments.
 
Although excessive use of text speak and general laziness with spelling and grammar (although I know I’m far from perfect) bug me somewhat too.
 

8. If you could live in a fictional universe, where would you live? Why?

I’m quite taken with the whole Pern universe (Anne and lately Todd McCaffrey), especially as a few of my friends and I use terms of reference taken from that series in our conversations.  The whole idea of a primarily peaceful and agrarian society appeals to me, plus, who wouldn’t want a fire lizard?
 

9. You’re having a bad day, you’re upset, you’re angry, or you’re sad – what is your go-to comfort?

Tea, every time. 
 

10. What is your favorite inspirational quote?

Philippians 4:13  – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
 I may have put off several readers here, but I truly love this quote and yes I do read my bible and attend church.  That is part of who I am.
 

11. If they were to make a movie based on your life, who would play you, your leading lady/man, your best friend, and your rival?

It would really help if I knew the whole who is who in acting more.  She’s a touch short to do it, but I’d probably end up being played by Keira Knightley.  Some of my friends have suggested there’s a strong similarity of appearance between the two of us.  There really really isn’t, I just happened to be wearing a slightly piratical hat and carrying two swords at the time.
 
I don’t have a leading man at present, so that role will have to wait and see.  As for my best friends, well if Gerard Butler can pull off the ginger look and bike leathers, he’d play Steve and as for Gemma…any petite sassy actresses with bags of style around?  Trying not to offend them with the choices either.
 
As far as rivals go, I don’t have them, so we don’t need to go casting them.
 

12. Do you think the world is going to end in 2012?

Just because the Myans ran out of room does not mean the world is going to end.  I suspect it won’t, but at the same time, who knows how long is left?
 

13. If you could change anything about yourself, what would it be?

It would have to be something pretty superficial otherwise I wouldn’t be me any more.  I sometimes toy with the idea of going very dramatic in terms of hair colour, but at the end of the day I’m happy with me as me, for all that I’ll sometimes gripe about some feature or other.
 

14. What is your favorite season and why?

Autumn.  I’m an autumn baby and I love it.  There are so many great days to walk which aren’t too hot as they can often be in summer, and if you time it right, you can eat with ease as you walk if there are apples and blackberries and such around.  The colours are beautiful and you know that the winter with all the fun of snowball fights and sledging is just around the corner.
 

15. You’ve been bitten by a vampire. Would you fight it with all your undead being or would you embrace it for all it is worth?

Definitely fight, I’d’ve been fighting before I was bitten and why change?  Thankfully I like plenty of garlic in my diet so maybe it wouldn’t take anyway.
 

16. Have you personally met any of your blogger friends?

A couple of them, and both were friends first and bloggers later.  Who knows, that could all change one day, I may end up interviewing them or something!
 

17. What does your favorite pair of underwear look like?

That’s for me to know and you to ponder.
 

18. Have you ever drank something right from the container in the refrigerator knowing other people will have to drink out of the same container later?

Quite probably, but I generally don’t if I know others will be using it later.  Even if I’m the only one I rarely do that as it is, don’t know why, just prefer to make more washing up I guess.
 

19. What is your favorite word and explain why?

Flibbertigibbet.  Just sit there and say it out loud, you’ll see why.
 

20. 2011 is soon coming to a close, is there anything you’d like to do different on your blog in the year 2012?

Nothing too drastic, toying with the idea of adding more art to posts, either my own doodles or photos, especially ones which have inspired or are of the inspiration behind the rhyme in question.  The theme may change, depending on if I find a theme better suited to what I want to do.  Just so long as I can add in a contact me form to make it easier for readers to get in touch, that will probably be the biggest change.  Oh, and depending on monies, I may get my own domain, will certainly make typing the address easier! 
 
Tentative plans are also developing to publish a book and host a poetry reading at some point in 2012, it depends on interest (I have about five sales confirmed) and costs. 
 
Then again, the world may have ended and none of this will matter 😉
 

2011 Community Network Meme Participation List

Betwixt And Between
Insignificant At Best
Kay At The Keyboard
WordsFallFromMyEyes
Courage To Change
Jackie Paulson~Writer
I Shall Be A Toad
Finding The Humor
Over A Cup Of Coffee
Morpho Designs
Broken Sparkles
Curiosity Killed The KAT
Walking The Labyrinth
Life Of Carbon
ConchSaladesque
Blue Jellybeans
Disjointed Rhymings
TheRealSharon’s Blog
How Can I Complain?
Morning Erection
2tha9s
24 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

24 responses to “2011 Community Meme

  1. I can totally picture your scruffy miniature polar bear! Love it!

    And I think I might be saying “flibbertigibbet” for the rest of the night now!

    Thanks for the great answers . . . It was fun getting to know you a bit through the meme 🙂

    • Sadly the scruffy one is getting on a bit, being around 21 months old and having an average life expectancy of 24 months. There is an old photo of him over here.

      It is one of those words that lingers, causing you to smile every time you think of it. Even better is when you are able to use it, and not just as an example of a brilliant sounding word.

      No doubt more will be revealed in future editions 🙂

  2. I love your song idea combining all kinds of music like your blog. I can see the resemblance with Keira Knightley (from seeing your avatar on other articles). Flibbertigibbet – Love it!! What a fun word. Now I have to Google what it means.

    Nice to meet you!

    • We’re only similar from a distance, honest! If you like the idea you’ll probably like the group, I came across them in Oxford one afternoon, the only group I have ever seen have an audience sat on the ground filling the width of the street.

      A flighty or unreliable person, in case Google lets you down 🙂

  3. I’m so glad that your post is up. I will make a note of that on my post today to get some folks over here to read and comment. I liked your quote and of course your favorite word. I’m resisting the desire to Google the movie it’s from. It’s on the tip of my tongue but I just can’t get it. Great answers all around and tea is a good comfort. Oolong, Green, Earl Grey!

  4. “I just happened to be wearing a slightly piratical hat and carrying two swords at the time.” – That is pure awesomeness, that totally sounds like something that would happen between me and my friends.

    Your answers are great! Sorry for taking a bit to get out here, but I made it! I love your favourite word, I had totally forgotten about that word, but I’m glad you jarred my memory.

    I’m glad I got to learn a bit more about you, you and I definitely have a lot in common. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • You made it to mine sooner than I made it to yours, so all is well 🙂

      This is what happens when you agree to join the Reenactments society at university. What was doubly amusing about the comparison is that they knew I wasn’t a fan of being compared to her, they were unarmed, and I’d just had my first ever sword training session and had proven to be respectably competent with a blade. Then again, this is the university where a student managed to get trapped in a clothes horse a couple of weeks ago…I finished there several years back!

      I will certainly be joining in with future editions!

  5. Hamster! I’ve always wanted to raise a hamster. When I was a kid and loved cartoons, there was this cartoon show about a little girl named Charlotte and her pet hamster called Speeka. Hamsters! Yay.

    Okay, that was actually Addie the kid commenting.

    Flibbertigibbet. Said this word out loud several times, each with different stress. Fun!

    Loved the way you answered every question. 😀

    • Addie the kid, hamsters are brilliant, and can be far more interesting than they seem. At least the Syrians can be, my Roborovskis are nothing but hyperactive trouble!

      Try saying it with a perfectly straight face…it’s a challenge!

      It wasn’t easy, but people took the time to think of them, so I felt that it was only polite I take the time to try and come up with half decent answers. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  6. I enjoyed all the variety and honesty of your responses. I agree with Phillipians, as well. I also get irritated by people who use ONLY text-speak! I do think there is a lot of room on these blogs to suggest further avenues to explore to a beginning writer, provided the suggestion is offered in a supportive manner. First, acknowledge, specifically, what message you liked in the post, then maybe suggest some ways the writer could take those points even further, I really like it when people offer this type of feedback at my own website.

    • There didn’t seem to be a point in taking part if I wasn’t going to be honest, would have spoiled the fun I think.

      If only people were more willing to GIVE that kind of feedback. I’ve had to set up a monthly challenge with a friend to help me develop as a poet. Having said that, it is a life long process, and I doubt I’ll ever master it all, if indeed all poetry forms CAN be mastered by one person.

      For all that I am of the appropriate generation to comprehend text speak, other than the very basic to/two/too = 2 and the like, I can’t read it. French and German make more sense!

  7. Flibbertigibbet is a great word! I use it all the time!!! I love your answers. So glad you got it posted.

  8. I don’t know what an albino hamster looks like, but I bet it’s super adorable!
    😀

  9. Hi DR!
    Had to take a nap, first 🙂
    I love your answers. The concept of a medley of songs is cool – I’ve always enjoyed shows where the artists bust out their favorites in an unending segue of smoothness. (gotta put that in my next creative post LOL)

    Do you know how many points you would get in Scrabble for that word?! Me neither, but your word is more lofty than such a stodgy game.

    It was fun getting to know you!

    Cheers,

    Mitch

    • Hi!

      Hope it was a good nap 🙂 I like the varitey you can get with such pieces, and the guys I saw were so good at it that people were picking 4-5 songs at random for them to medley. It was definately an unending segue of smoothness 😉

      You’d need a lot of luck to be able to play it, but considering how many double and triple tiles you’d hit…lots!

      Glad you enjoyed,
      Ruth

  10. Your hamster sounds adorable! I’d love to see pictures! 🙂

  11. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Hiya Disjointed Rhymings. I couldn’t remember if I’d visited your MEME or not, but Tom Baker said to drop in because you had trouble posting or something.

    It’s great you wrote a word from the Bible & said ‘stuff it, it’s part of who I am’. There is a LOT of inspiration from the Bible. Whyever would we not speak it loud because it’s from … the… BIBLE! Good on you 🙂

    I will have to google Flibbertgibbert now, to see if you’ve been any children’s books lately …

    Seeya!

    • Apparently it can be found in the Sound of Music…which I’ve never seen so I’ll have come across it randomly many years ago. I think it was one my mum taught me along with mendacious and mendicant.

      So many of the quotes and sayings within the English language, along with several laws and principles can be traced back to the Bible, if only more people realised how much they use it any way. There is a lot of inspiration and encouragement to be found within its pages.

      Glad you popped by 🙂

Let me know what you think

