The Art of Storytelling

In my final year of uni, some of my friends set up a Storytelling society, and I was one of the original members (sadly the society has since been disbanded).  We looked at and shared different examples of stories and storytelling from a variety of cultures, and even put on a Guiser’s play.  I was chatting to the first president, our ‘MasterHarper’ during a furious scribbling session which naturally made me think on such things.  It also served as a first stab at iambic pentameter whilst I was mulling my November Challenge.  Enjoy!

 

The Art of Storytelling
Who tells a story with just plain old words,
Or reads a poem like some dull, dead verse?
There’s an artistry to storytelling,
And a skill to reading a rhyme alive.
It starts off with the speed and tone you use,
The movements both chosen and subconscious.
The way that you draw the audience in,
With a glance,
With a pause,
With a sweep,
With a shout,
As you bring them along on the journey.
22/11/2011
4 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

4 responses to “The Art of Storytelling

  1. Hehe, back in the days of old Storytelling Soc. I miss it TT_TT

  2. VERY successful, disjointed. Congratulations! I especially liked the glance-pause-sweep-shout progression. I work on that pattern all the time, myself.

  3. this is fun,

    there are endless ways to tell a story, it is cool to dig on it.

  4. Greetings:

    Hope that you have had a great Merry Christmas.

    Thanks for the delightful support along the way,

    Happy New Year.

    Share a piece of your poetry today at our poetry party today if you could.,

    Have fun!

    Sending you love and blessings.
    Cheers.

    xoxox

    hope all is well, share an old piece is okay. valued your input.

Let me know what you think

