The Great Fjords of Norway

 

Once again I am hugely grateful to the Poets Rally for my Perfect Poet Award, my fellow winners can be found here (http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/2012/01/perfect-poets-award-week-60.html) and are well worth reading.  I’m nominating Cloaked Monk (http://cloakedmonk.com/2012/01/11/choi/) for the award.

 

This post I’m going back in the archives to revive one that has only survived because I at some point felt the need to inflict my grandparents in Scotland with a handmade book containing some of my rhymes.  I have since been to Norway, and found the part I was in a lot greener than my reading of Roald Dahl’s ‘Boy’ had lead me to imagine.  Although I was probably in a different part.  Unusually for pre-15 year old me, I haven’t rhymed it.

 

The Great Fjords of Norway
The waves lap the shores,
Of the great fjords of Norway.
Towering island peaks,
Above the icy deeps.
 
Mainly barren earth and rocks,
Make the land almost unfarmable.
Springy vegetation here and there,
Provides grazing for Fjord ponies.
 
The great fjords of Norway,
Rocky island peaks,
Above cold icy deeps.
Pre 2001

At some point this year I shall get back into my posting routine.  I really shall!

8 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

8 responses to “The Great Fjords of Norway

  1. Little farming, grazing for Fjord ponies, rocky peaks above icy deeps: you have made this place so inviting that I shall dip into it again in August when I need true refreshment from a US Southern 105 degree summer day. P.S. I think your Scottish grandparents are going to break out the fiddles for a party when they received your handmade book of poetry!

    • It is a lovely country 🙂 I’ll have sent it to them well over ten years ago, and sadly both are no longer around (which is why I have the book back). They did like it when any of the grandchildren made them things 🙂

  2. lovely imagery,
    smiles.

    Happy Rally.

  3. Really great imagery, feel like I was there, nice to read you 🙂

  4. You’ve caught the atmosphere of the place perfectly.

Let me know what you think

