The Importance of My Hat

I pretty much always wear a hat, unless the occasion demands that I don’t, but even then I shall probably have worn one there, and be wearing it back home again.  Wearing a hat has become so much a part of who people perceive me to be, that people find it hard to spot and/or recognise me without one.  To me, wearing a hat isn’t just about image or style, it’s a very practical matter too.  So here goes.

 

The Importance of My Hat

 

My hat is my identity,
My hat is my disguise.
When I take it off,
I’m hidden from your eyes.
 
My hat is my confidence,
My hat is my protection.
It shelters me from wind and rain,
And avian defecation.
 
My hat is very precious,
My hat is ordinary.
And I’ve one for every occasion,
From trilby through to beret.
24/02/2012
4 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

4 responses to “The Importance of My Hat

  1. Hooray for hats. Here in the American Deep South, in this out-of-the-way small town, all the women do not want to muss up their hairstyles, so–no hats! I grew up a farm girl, with lots of chores in all weathers,so the appropriate hat was essential. I love hats and applaud all hat -wearers!

    • Hats are brilliant, and the hair excuse isn’t a particularly robust one. If you pick the right hat, it can protect your do! And if you’re going somewhere posh enough to require a really posh do, it probably isn’t the kind of place you’d wear a hat to anyway, so no worry.

Let me know what you think

