Spring is Almost Here

No, it’s not an April Fool, for one thing it’s far too late in the day for such things.  I’m actually doing a post!  I wanted to post this one a few weeks ago, but I couldn’t find it, even though I knew I’d seen it a couple of days before then.  Spring cleaning today relocated it (and relocated an awful lot of my stuff, a considerable amount to the bin).  For the past year there have been two big boxes between my bed and my bookcases, these have now gone, and the bookcases seem awfully far away now.

 

In other news, the proof for my part of ‘Ten of the Best’ finally arrived last Saturday and having corrected it, I sent it back last Thursday.  Things are moving, but it will still be a while before I’m sat here with the book in my hands.  If anyone wants a copy and hasn’t already asked, I do have a couple more available.

 

So this one is a little out of season, especially with the mini-Summer we’ve just had in the UK.  When am I ever seasonal?  Enjoy!

 

Spring is Almost Here
Snowdrops and celandine,
Nodding in the breeze.
On the banks of the stream,
Beneath budding trees.
 
The wind is bitter cold,
And the sky is grey as lead.
I wish that like the songbirds,
I had southward fled.
 
Then the sun breaks though the gloom,
To fill our hearts with cheer.
For these flowers don’t you know,
Mean spring is almost here!
09/02/2010
11 Comments

Filed under Rhymes

11 responses to “Spring is Almost Here

  1. Beautiful ode to spring, disjointed! I love it no matter when it appears here! Budding trees, singing birds, gurgling stream, scented breezes, peeping flowers in the grass–wonderful! So pleased about your poetry in that book! Wonderful!

    • We skipped past spring and right in to summer here, and have reverted back to mid-winter now…not that that’s confusing at all!

      I’m looking forward to seeing the other work in the book, should be an interesting mix of styles and subjects.

  2. Always a fan of rhymning but there really wasnt much of a spring this year anyway good work and catch ya next time.

  3. Cerridwen

    We are just seeing a hint of spring right now, but it feels like what your poem describes. :o) Here’s my offering this week: http://caridwen.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/drafting-in-memoriam-adrienne-rich/

  4. Love the rhyming! Really cute poem, I am awaiting spring too 😀

  5. The last verse has a happy ring to it. Spring is such a cheerful season.

    Someday Somewhere – Hope

  6. Brought a smile to my lips – the last line especially added a lovely twist to the tone of the piece. Brilliant!

  7. David Rowing

    That poem’s just right for this time of year … pregnant with Spring. Days are getting longer and the sun’s poking through. 😀

Let me know what you think

