If I Couldn’t See, I Should Miss (Reprise)

I’ve been rather remiss in posting new material, even though I have been penning some.  Probably because I tend to write new things on a Monday night during the music/poetry session I attend, and have forgotten about it by the weekend.  Sorry.  I will try to do better.

Some years ago at school, we had a week where we were learning about deafness and blindness and what it is like to have to live with that.  The assignment at the end of the week was to write a poem either titled ‘If I Couldn’t See I Should Miss’ or ‘If I Couldn’t Hear I Should Miss’.  I still have the poem I wrote for it, and posted it just over a year ago.  If you want to re-read it, it’s here.

For some time I’ve been toying with the idea of revisiting the assignment, and writing a revised version.  After all, I’m not the same person now that I was 18 years ago.  I tried to reflect the layout of my original piece, but I think there’s a bit more structure this time around.  So here’s the 2013 edition.  Please let me know what you think in the comments below, on Facebook, Twitter or by dropping me an e-mail.

 

If I Couldn’t See, I Should Miss (Reprise)
If I couldn’t see, I should miss:
Watching skylarks dance as they sing,
Though I could still hear their music,
And would never have to see another tear.
 
I should miss:
Watching meteor showers on a starry night,
Though I might gain the ears to hear them,
And clouds would never thwart me.
 
I should miss:
Watching joyful faces so animated,
Though I’d not see the scowls,
And never have to see pain.
 
I should miss:
The freedom of driving my car,
To watch the waves on the shore.
15/07/2013

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Rhymes

Let me know what you think

